HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT A “SECRET” KNITTING STYLE

I learned to knit when I was just 5 years old. My Grandmother had the patience to show me how to do my first chain with my fingers, because I was on her heels and wanted to do the same thing she was doing. Over the years I became more and more interested in needlecraft and everything that goes along with it, so finally I studied Textile Design.

I’m now getting close to 70 and you would think that after so much time I would know most about needlecrafts but very recently I found out something very curious that made me think again:

It was the day when someone told me that I practice COMBINATION KNITTING.

I had no idea that besides the English/American and the Continental technique there is a third knitting style! Well, this explains why some of my pattern writing always needed some extra help to be right so knitters could understand what I was trying to say.

Here is a video that opened my eyes when a friend sent it to me:

Recently I planned a new Shawl and I decided to do a very open structure just based on the front row YO, K2tog and the back row all purl. To make it more exciting, I chose to work the shawl in the bias.

Knitting Bias Scheme

Interestingly due to my Combination Knitting technique, the K2tog’s supported the bias shape and the final design turned into a lengthwise striped scarf. What a fun surprise!

SKEINO Gala Scarf Detail

SKEINO’s new Gala Scarf

Our superfluffy, glittery and light weight VENICE yarn made the scarf very special and I’m convinced that the result with another yarn would not haven been so pretty as it came out with SKEINO Venice Yarn.

Here is the pattern:

Cast on 30 Stitches with needle #11

  1. Row K
  2. Row K1, K2tog, K26, M1, K1
  3. Row P
  4. Row K1, K2tog, K26, M1B, K1
  5. Row P

From now on repeat the following two rows:

Front row: K1, K2tog, K1, [YO, K2tog] 12 times, M1B, K2

Back row: P

For the last 5 rows repeat rows 1.-5.

Bind of loosely and weave in ends.

As I was knitting the model for our website I recorded a small video and I thought that it would be a nice idea to show you how the scarf knits using my combination knitting. You are very welcome to try the technique too:

This was my first attempt on doing a video tutorial. Please let me know if you want to see more videos like that.

To conclude let me say that actually I am very happy with my knitting style: it is easy and fast. But as you already know, SKEINO’s slogan is HAPPY KNITTING so please stay true to your personal style.

What is your favourite knitting style? Do you know of a fourth “secret” technique? Please let me know in the comments!

…and as always:

HAPPY KNITTING!

Love,

Bjorn

One thought on “HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT A “SECRET” KNITTING STYLE

  1. Great video. This looks like something I can be comfortable with as the left hand is held much the way I have a tendency to hold the yarn for continental. I can’t waitto start. Loved the music as well. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

