THE RIGHT TENSION FOR YOUR YARN

During my years of knitting with different yarns I have developed my own way to hold the yarn that I am using. I love fast knitting, because I am always curious to see what it looks like after the work has been finished. For that reason, I do not like a rolling ball of yarn. Yarns that are wound into balls with the option to pull out the end from the center are my favorite. I figured out that it is important that the yarn pulls out straight up to a point where the yarn runs even and steady into my hand. Years ago I created a small stand using a wooden block and a thick bendable wire as my tool.

Here is a picture:

IMG_6466.jpg

The yarn is guided through the wire loop into my hand and I can even walk away from my chair and the yarn will feed into my hand. As a Continental Knitter or Combination Knitter I am holding the yarn in my left hand. One way or the other, I became comfortable to thread the yarn between my little finger and the ring finger into my hand and then out of my hand between the middle finger and the index finger. By doing this I can tighten my hand to stop the yarn from running too fast and too loose into my knitting. The index finger as well can control the tension.

Here is a little video on this subject:

So this is my way of feeding the yarn into my hand. There are many ways to hold the yarn correctly. You and I know how important it is to have a good and even result.

If you like my tool, maybe someone can build one for you. We can even ask the folks at LARC who are working together with us to built one for you and offer it on SKEINO. Please let me know in the comments.

Happy Knitting !

 

Bjorn

8 thoughts on “THE RIGHT TENSION FOR YOUR YARN

  1. Thanks for the video, Bjorn. I will start practising continental style knitting as it looks like it’s much faster. If you offered your tension invention on Skeino, I would probably buy it if the price was reasonable.

  2. I think this could be handy for the trowers and flickers right handed too.
    And this handy tool is so easy even I should be able to make it myself.
    Handy lady even with while beeing disabled. Lol.

    And sending such a device across the ocean will cost a lot more than it costs to send some skeins of yarn.

    You created a very handy aid to knitting Bjorn! And thank you again for a very informative blog and video!

  3. This looks like a piece of modern art as well as a useful tool!! I think you do have to play with how the best way to hold the yarn for you is, and that takes time and patience. I’m an English knitter so I hold the yarn with my right hand. I used to wrap it around my middle finger, which would give me good tension, but it would slow me down as I would have to “throw” it and thus take my hand off the needle. After watching many videos from Stacy (verypink.com) and admiring her fast knitting skills, I attempted to hold the yarn in my index finger. I am still practicing the tension issue with this style, but I can already tell I’m so much faster!!

Leave a Reply

