HOW TO FIND YOUR PERSONAL KNITTING STYLE

Knitting is a creative hobby and especially for me as a designer it’s just natural to play around with different ways of doing things. This is what today’s video tutorial is all about: Finding your personal knitting style.

For me this is a very important topic. I want to encourage you to think out of the box and start to play when you’re knitting. Once you start to experiment with your knitting you will see how easy it suddenly becomes to alternate the design of the pattern you are knitting. You may even start designing your very own patterns!

I was thinking a long time about the right way to show you how to find your personal knitting style. In the end I realized that the only to do so would be talking about my own knitting.

So here is how I do things when I knit, the techniques that work best for me and the mistakes I make voluntarily. I hope this knitting video tutorial will inspire you to find your own knitting style.

If you purchase any of our knitting kits please feel encouraged to add your personal note to the pattern. Knitting is all about you.

Click on the image above to watch the video.

 

By the way I’m using our SKEINO Donna Yarn for this tutorial. It’s a 7 oz. super bulky, extra fine merino superwash yarn in super bulky weight.

What is your personal knitting style? Do you have any questions or tips that might be valuable to other knitters? Let me know down in the comments here in the blog and on Youtube.

 

…And as always,

Happy Knitting!

Bjorn

5 thoughts on “HOW TO FIND YOUR PERSONAL KNITTING STYLE

  1. Question for Bjorn. I used to purl the way you do in the video, but I didn’t like the look. From what I’m understanding, if you ktbl on the next (return) row the stitches aren’t crossed. Let me see if I can be clear on what I’m talking about:
    Row 1. Knit through
    Row 2. Purl using your technique
    Row 3. Ktbl
    Row 4. Purl by placing yarn over needle and then pulling through
    Row 5. Knit through front leg

    Is that what you get?

  2. Disregard last comment. I have trouble writing what I’m talking about. I had it all backwards. I guess my main question would be should you match your knitting and purling techniques as to whether you knit through the front and purl the most popular way? Or ktbl when you purl Russian or Norwegian style?

    • Dear Carolyn, Thank you for your comments. To be as easy as possible, a knit stitch needs to be knitted and a purl stitch needs to be purled. The way you are doing it is your style. The left leg should stay left and the right leg should stay right. The important point is, how your stitch is positioned on your needle. This is what you have to identify and this will guide you in terms of how to knit and purl. Please let me know, if you need more help to have a clear understanding. I would not mind to show it in a small video. Bjorn

  3. Hello Bjorn,
    I like your videos I’ve been getting recently. On this last one, “How to find your Personal knitting style, I noticed that you slipped the last stitches. I’m curious as to why you would slip and not knit/purl it. Is this part of your knitting style, or do you always slip the last stitch on your rows when making a project? And if so what is the benefit? I know if the edge rows will be something you use to attach a front band on a sweater, or sleeves it is beneficial to pick up stitches, as well as leaving a neater edge for certain items even if you aren’t picking up stitches.
    Would love to know about that.
    I am a thrower knitter, only because this is how my Grandmother taught me as a child. She was originally from England and likely that is how her Mother taught her, you called this Old English method in the video. I would love to try continental knitting as it seems more fluid and possibly faster. I’ve tried but it feels awkward, like trying to write with your left hand if you’re right handed.
    Thank you for the videos and helpful information. As well the Skeino yarn is lovely.
    Sue

    • Dear Sue, thank you for your comments. It is always very nice to hear what the knitters think about my short videos, which is my way of knitting. A knitting project and the pattern for it should provide easy counting, a good number of stitches to remember and a good portion of logic to make the work float. Even complicated patterns can be done easy if all the math makes sense. As the questions from the knitters are coming my way, I am happy to show what I am doing or what I would do. Thank you for your complement about our yarns. Bjorn

Leave a Reply

